Moving Day

To the average reader, it would seem as if I have been neglecting my bloggerly duties. After all, I haven’t posted in, oh, a while. And what more is there to blogging than posting?

The average reader would, however, be deeply incorrect. In addition to beginning an astonishing number of posts that went nowhere and arranging a special surprise for next weekend, I have been wandering around, lost and blindfolded, in the land of web design. Turns out when you value quality control (or, okay, are an anal perfectionist) like me, web design becomes an obsession, creating hollow-eyed zombies out of (fairly) normal people. Even now I find myself fighting the urge to tweak one more line of code on my shiny new homepage, add a tenth widget to my brand new blog, or install yet another show-offy plugin on my radically improved photoblog. I could also change the fonts. Or perhaps the link colors. Or the wording on the welcome page.

See? I am now a crazy person. CSS did that to me. Robin and Pam do share part of the blame, though, since I was forced to watch longingly from the shadows while both of them obtained pretty new websites. In the meantime, I languished here in the land of free hosting. And so, yes, when I obtained the freedom that came with setting up my own webbly home I went a little nuts. On the blog alone there will be footnotes! And polls! And cool subscription options! And many other unnecessary frills to astound and delight! I’d like to think it’s worth it. And if the universe is willing (please make it so!) this will be my last big move ever. Yeehaw.

And now, without further segue, the boring, practical stuff…

Feeds:
If you already subscribe to this blog using an RSS feed, you may or may not have to change your subscription. If you use the Feedburner feed, no modifications are necessary. I can take the feed with me, so for a few days it will still show information for my old blog. When I have a new post up, I’ll switch it over to start displaying info for the new blog. (Feedburner is cool like that. If you don’t use it for your own blog, I recommend it.) And, of course, if you subscribed using my regular feed address then click here to change to the Feedburner subscription. Or you could just get email updates. Your choice.

Links:
New website: http://www.caryncaldwell.com
New blog home: http://www.caryncaldwell.com/blog
New photoblog: http://www.caryncaldwell.com/photos

Note:
If you have blogrolled this page, I thank you from the depths of my soul. In a while I’ll put up a redirection from this blog to my new one. However, if you’re feeling kind, changing the links would be great.

Hope to see you over at my new home on the internet!

12 Comments

  1. Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 4:41 pm

    Oh, pretty new site! Although I’m a mere lurker, I’ll be following you to your new digs…

  2. Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 6:42 pm

    Woo Hoo! A shiny new you. Er, um, not to imply there was anything wrong with green you, but…um, yeah.I’ll just crawl away now and add the appropriate links like a good tactless person.

    Congrats on the new digs!!! Looks great!

  3. Suzanne said,

    Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 8:28 pm

    I love your new page… it is so refreshing. I know what you mean about facing the challenges of blog and webdesign. lol.. I am never satisfied with mine. Okay, will add the link to my blog… and yes, there is so much one can put on a blog or webpage, it’s mindblowing just what one can do.
    I dare say in the near future my webiste and blog will change… but I think it’s refreshing to have a change. Like redecorating a home. lol….

  4. Amy said,

    Sunday, November 23, 2008 at 11:28 pm

    Wahoo, it looks like I’m good to go with the switchover.

  5. Monday, November 24, 2008 at 6:54 am

    Nice site! :)

  6. Monday, November 24, 2008 at 8:04 am

    By the way, I haven’t been answering lately because I’m responding by email — or I will, at least, when I get home from work this evening. :-)

  7. Kath Calarco said,

    Monday, November 24, 2008 at 10:39 am

    Beautiful home page! I’m redirecting your link.

  8. The Muse said,

    Monday, November 24, 2008 at 4:06 pm

    I’ll check my bookmarks to see all goes well and I get your updates. Off to check the new page…

  9. spyscribbler said,

    Monday, November 24, 2008 at 5:13 pm

    Done! And it’s SOOOOO pretty. I’ve updated my blogroll, but my site is under reconstruction, so it won’t be up for a couple days.

  10. virginia said,

    Tuesday, November 25, 2008 at 9:45 am

    how awesome! the page looks great!

  11. Tuesday, November 25, 2008 at 3:47 pm

    Caryn,
    You already know I love the new site :). BTW, I’ve tried twice now to get Blogger to accept your new blog address for my blog roll…but, for some reason, it just keeps going back to this one, even though I’ve changed and saved it. Perhaps when you put up the redirection it’ll finally work for me? Or, perhaps, my computer skills are to blame. I did want to let you know, though, that I’d tried!

  12. Pam said,

    Tuesday, November 25, 2008 at 8:42 pm

    Woohoo–I’ve finally come inside from screaming and dancing outside at the wonder of your new site. I am so very, very, very, very excited for you.

    *pom pom swish* times a billion!!!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

